DEMO49 Julien Dajez – Divergent Iterations, The Complicity and Aporia of Diversion

June 2024

Materializing the Transformation of Research Through the Creative Process

Conceived as a semi-accompanied journey linking five stations in a 185 m² space, the installation traces the progress of my research-creation in experimental media. Initially focused on enriching the audiovisual experience, this process has followed an evolutionary trajectory, transforming both the research and the approaches explored. My work in residence bears witness to this evolution.


A Trans-media Journey Through the Narrative and Technical Structures of an Audiovisual Work

This research-creation project explores open-ended avenues, opening new horizons for the creative flow of a film and its trans-media dimension. This term refers to the variation of a narrative through its dispersal from one medium to another. By engaging the media translation of work as a creative dynamic that fosters the emergence of embodied knowledge, I seek to promote a deep perception of the media work and a critical appreciation of contemporary narrative dynamics. This is achieved by integrating interdisciplinary practices that contaminate and transform each other.

In particular, this approach focuses on re-articulating the relationships between narrative, materials and human and non-human experience, where sensory interactions act as components of an expanded “text”.

Laboratory artwork: the In(de)finite as a Device for Methodological Reinvention

The raw material of the device, the motion picture Les Ondes Grises is an in(de)finite work in progress, in perpetual transfiguration. The film acts as a central pivot for a series of dispersal designed to metamorphose the cinematographic intention into a living texture, a fluid, talkative, malleable and reactive matrix of poetic research.

This approach extends the literary concept of intertextuality beyond the cinematographic writings of screenplay, dialogue, and film credits to encompass the narrativity of media materials. This expression allows me to interweave digital approaches with practices from other performative, vocal, and scriptural traditions, integrating them as textual and media extensions of film. With its various permutations, the work of cinema oscillates between subtle variations and radical divergences.

These fluctuations transform the experimental room into a space of exploration and movement, characterized by a dynamic interplay between different forms of expression.

Texts, Textures, Textiles, Textus: Media Alliterations, Scenographic Assonances and Critical Resonances

Here’s a still from the residency: the tour is staged in two distinct sequences. The first part opens on a television, in an airlock, where the screen reveals a feverish, grainy material that flows like a horizontal hourglass in a liminal space between image and sound. The grainy dissolution of the cinematographic image heralds future operations and the distillation of the boundaries between media.

This prologue, the fruit of a collaboration with Hervé Zénouda, who composed the piano piece Déclinaison pour une gamme par ton, serves as an antechamber before entering behind the velvet curtains of Hexagram. Here, two powerful video projections face each other, animating a sculptural complex of translucent sails. These sails unfurl like breathing walls, tracing shifting boundaries in space, an apparatus I use as a prism of dislocation and narrative redeployment traversed by the creative flow of Ondes Grises.

At every turn, the projection of the film’s variations is revealed in the multiplicity of its dimensions. The work constantly diffracts its own contours through the arrangement of organza veils animated by the oscillating breath of the fans, creating a play of shimmers, moirés, undulations and transparencies in perpetual metamorphosis.

This invitation to a trans-media journey continues with the arrival in a discussion zone, a dialogical space dedicated to critical exchange and shared reflection. A meeting and exhibition station at the end of the wanderings, this section provides access to my practice notebook and to the research writings deconstructed by ChatGPT.

At the very end of the tour, as a silent echo to the bursts of words and sounds superimposed by the rest of the installation, I exhibit the final fragments of the “mothership”, the central narrative (Jenkins, 2006), recycled paper fibres fragmented by laser burning of photograms from the film.

In staging the translation of Ondes Grises into new techniques, the proliferation of media served as a thread connecting the different media: audiovisual waves, the tangible matter of sails and paper, and architectural space. Between aporia and complicity, the media narratives vary, dislocate and rearrange themselves along the way, attempting to elicit from the work a social and physical materiality that offers points of rupture and continuity in the exploration of narrative dynamics.

Equipment Implementation and Experience Credits

The preparation begins with an architectural plan to map out immersion and engagement zones. A flexible modular infrastructure, designed with the assistance of Stéphane Gladyszewski and realized with Laeticia Philantrope, allows for variations in the arrangement of sails and the creation of interaction stations, where visitors can actively influence scenic elements. This facilitates real-time adjustments and adaptations, offering an evolving experience.

In terms of control, the device, developed on TouchDesigner with the invaluable help of Étienne Monténégro, synchronizes two video projectors, four video streams, three audio streams and three PAR LEDs. This creates a dynamic environment in which visual and audio elements move in and out of sync.

The cinematography by Hraïr Hratchian and Martin Archambault enriches the audiovisual narrative of the research-creation process, illuminating the uncertainties, the discussions, and the methodological and experiential dynamics.

Prototyping an Experimental Cinema Space

Physical engagement led to an exploration of gestures, negotiating the relationship between the translucence of textile surfaces and moving video projections, superimposing, bending and modulating their tension. By manipulating the video projectors, adjusting distances, and selecting veils according to their weave, these interactions transformed materials and bodies into instruments for investigating diffraction phenomena. This approach exploits ripples of light interfering with semitransparent veils to create sophisticated optical patterns and animated pseudo-holography.

By strategically positioning the fans to modulate the participants’ experience and the animation of the veils, a tactile, visual, and reactive dynamic was created, achieving a key goal of redefining the cinematic experience through the interweaving of sensory and material interactions.

Functioning simultaneously as a screening room for Ondes Grises, a film studio documenting the process, and an experimental laboratory, this space has come to embody an autopoietic device where scenarios emerge from the interactions between media materials and participants. Collaborators, visitors, and creators are all invited to become active agents of an ever-changing ontology. The sails, oscillating under the influence of air currents, become screen and membrane, surface and depth, revealing the fluidity and evolution of the creative process. In this way, media scenography, enriched by ethnographic research with cameras and drawings, seeks to embody the fluidity between “texts” and disciplines.

Bourdaa, M. (2012). Le Transmédia: entre narration augmentée et logiques immersives [online].

Derrida, J. (1967). De la grammatologie. Les Éditions de Minuit.

Genette, G. (1982). Palimpsestes : La littérature au second degré. Seuil.

Jenkis, H (2006) Convergence culture. Where old and new media collide, NYU Press, 2006.

McLuhan, M. (1968). Pour comprendre les médias : Les prolongements technologiques de l’homme (J. Paré, Trad.). Mame/Seuil.

Zenouda, H. (2020), Micrologies N°1. Optical sound


Julien Dajez [student member, UQAM] uses audiovisual media as a means of opening up to other practices. At the intersection of critical approach and methodological experimentation, he develops strategies that put aesthetic and narrative norms in tension by exploring the fluidity between the disciplines of experimental research and the creative flow of media work. Julien Dajez has received several awards for his audiovisual creations, including an Honorary Mention at Ars Electronica for Ū-Man (Non-Humain), which won Best Soundtrack at CST/SACEM, the Synthesys IV Award, and a Pixel/Ina Award at Imagina for Biozoo, which was presented at Siggraph’s Electronic Theater and won Best Video Paint Design at the International Monitor Awards. As a director and art director for fashion and advertising, he has worked with brands such as Dior, Cartier, Garnier and Première Vision, produced the video set design for Mylène Farmer’s Mylénium Tour, created the graphic design for the TF1 (France) TV news show, produced TV dressing commas for MTV Europe and Nicktoons in New York.

Acknowledgements

Julien Dajez would like to thank the Hexagram network and its co-director Sofian Audry, as well as Martin Archambault, Max Boutin, Stéphane Gladyszewski, Hraïr Hratchian, Stefan Sao Nelet, Laeticia Philantrope, Jason Pomrenski, Etienne Sanche, Hervé Zénouda, Nadia Seraiocco, and Frédéric Maheux for their inspiring workshop on ChatGPT. He also expresses his gratitude to Hugo Dalphond, professor at the École supérieure de théâtre de l’UQAM, and to Louis-Claude Paquin, director of his research-creation at the École des médias de l’UQAM.

Cette publication est également disponible en : Français (French)

DEMO49 Julien Dajez – Itéracomplicité de la Dérivergence, l’Aporie de la Dériversion

Juin 2024

Matérialiser la transformation de la recherche par le biais du parcours de création

Conçue comme un parcours semi-accompagné reliant cinq stations dans un espace de 185 m², l’installation retrace les progressions de ma recherche-création en média expérimental. D’abord centrée sur l’enrichissement de l’expérience audiovisuelle, cette démarche a suivi une trajectoire évolutive, transformant à la fois la recherche et les approches explorées. Mon activité en résidence témoigne de ce cheminement.


Un voyage trans-médiatique à travers les structures narratives et techniques d’une œuvre audiovisuelle

Cette recherche-création explore des pistes sans finalité arrêtée, ouvrant des horizons sur le flot de création d’un film et sa dimension trans-médiatique, terme qui désigne ici la variation du récit à travers sa dispersion de média en média. En engageant la traduction médiatique d’une œuvre comme une dynamique de création favorisant l’émergence des savoirs incarnés, je cherche à favoriser une perception profonde de l’œuvre médiatique et une appréciation critique des dynamiques narratives contemporaines, en intégrant des pratiques interdisciplinaires qui se contaminent et se transforment mutuellement.

Cette approche se concentre en particulier sur la réarticulation des relations entre récit, matières et expérience humaine et non humaine, où les interactions sensorielles agissent comme des composantes d’un « texte » élargi.

L’œuvre-laboratoire : l’in(dé)fini comme dispositif de réinvention méthodologique

Matière première du dispositif, le film Les Ondes Grises est une œuvre-laboratoire in(dé)finie, en perpétuelle transfiguration. Ce film agit comme un pivot central pour une série d’éparpillements destinées à métamorphoser le propos cinématographique en une texture vivante, une matrice de recherche poétique, fluide, bavarde, malléable et réactive.

À travers cette démarche, j’élargis la conception littéraire d’intertextualité au-delà des écrits cinématographiques que constituent le scénario, les dialogues et le générique du film, pour l’étendre à la narrativité des matières médiatiques. Cette expression me permet d’entrelacer les approches numériques avec des pratiques issues d’autres traditions, performatives, vocales et scripturales, en les intégrant comme des extensions textuelles et médiatiques du film.

Fluctuants entre subtiles variations et divergences radicales, l’œuvre cinématographique et ses multiples itérations irriguent le parcours de visite, transformant la salle d’expérimentation en un espace tumultueux d’exploration et de mouvement.

Textes, textures, textiles, textus : allitérations médiatiques, assonances scénographiques et résonances critiques

Voici un arrêt sur image de cette résidence : le parcours est scénographié en deux séquences distinctes. La première partie s’ouvre sur une télé, dans un sas, l’écran dévoile une matière fébrile et granuleuse qui s’écoule comme un sablier horizontal dans un espace liminal entre le visuel et l’audio. La dissolution par le grain de l’image cinématographique annonce des opérations à venir et la distillation des frontières entre les médiums.

Ce prologue, fruit d’une collaboration avec Hervé Zénouda qui a composé la pièce pour piano Déclinaison pour une gamme par ton, sert d’antichambre avant de pénétrer derrière les rideaux de velours d’Hexagram. Là, deux puissantes projections vidéo en vis-à-vis animent, en le traversant de part en part, un complexe sculptural de voiles translucides. Ces voiles se déploient en murs respirants, traçant des frontières mouvantes dans l’espace, un appareillage que j’utilise comme un prisme de dislocation et de redéploiement narratif traversé par le flot de création des Ondes Grises.

À chaque détour, la projection des variations du film se dévoile dans la multiplicité de ses dimensions. L’œuvre diffracte sans cesse ses propres contours à travers l’agencement de voiles en organza animées par le souffle oscillatoire des ventilateurs, créant un jeu de scintillements, de moirages, d’ondulations et de transparences en perpétuelle métamorphose.

Cette invitation au voyage trans-médiatique se prolonge par l’arrivée dans une zone de discussions, un espace dialogique dédié aux échanges critiques et aux réflexions partagées. Station de rencontre et d’exposition qui clôt la déambulation, cette partie donne l’accès à mon carnet de pratique ainsi qu’à des écrits de recherche décomposés par ChatGPT.

À la toute fin du parcours, servant d’écho silencieux aux éclats de mots et de sons superposés du reste du dispositif, j’expose les derniers fragments du « mothership », la narration centrale (Jenkins, 2006), des fibres recyclées en papier morcelés par la brulure au laser des photogrammes du film.

En scénographiant la translation des Ondes Grises vers de nouvelles techniques, la prolifération médiatique a servi de fil conducteur entre les différents supports : les ondes audiovisuelles, la matière tangible des voiles et du papier, et l’espace architectural. Entre aporie et complicité, les récits médiatiques varient, se disloquent et se réagencent dans le parcours, tentant ainsi de faire surgir de l’œuvre une matérialité sociale et physique offrant des points de rupture et de continuité dans l’exploration des dynamiques narratives.

Mise en œuvre du dispositif et générique de l’expérience

La préparation commence par un plan architectural pour cartographier les zones d’immersion et d’engagement. Une infrastructure modulaire flexible, conçue avec l’aide de Stéphane Gladyszewski et réalisée avec Laeticia Philantrope, permet de varier la disposition des voiles et de créer des stations d’interaction, où les visiteurs peuvent activement influencer les éléments scénographiques. Cela facilite les ajustements et les adaptations en temps réel, offrant une expérience évolutive. 

En termes de régie, le dispositif développé sur TouchDesigner avec l’aide précieuse d’Étienne Monténégro synchronise deux vidéoprojecteurs, quatre flux vidéo, trois flux audio et trois PAR LED. Cela crée un environnement dynamique où les éléments visuels et sonores se désynchronisent et se resynchronisent.

Les prises de vue réalisées par Hraïr Hratchian et Martin Archambault enrichissent le récit audiovisuel du processus de recherche-création, illuminant les aléas, les discussions et les dynamiques méthodologiques et expérientielles.

Prototypage d’un espace cinématographique expérimental

Au fil de ma résidence, la vision d’une salle de cinéma utopique s’est imposée, née de l’interaction avec les réalités matérielles, techniques et humaines du dispositif. Émergeant de la résilience des concepts théoriques face aux pratiques expérimentales, cette perspective, longtemps captive de la complexité de mon arrière-plan, a commencé à trouver sa forme.

L’engagement corporel a conduit à une exploration des gestes, négociant la relation entre la translucidité des surfaces textiles et les projections vidéo en mouvement, en les superposant, pliant et modulant leur tension. Manipulant les vidéoprojecteurs, ajustant les distances et sélectionnant les voiles selon leur tissage, ces interactions ont transformé matériaux et corps en instruments de recherche sur les phénomènes de diffraction. Cette approche exploite les ondulations lumineuses interférant avec les voiles semi-transparents pour créer des motifs optiques sophistiqués et une pseudo-holographie animée.

En positionnant stratégiquement les ventilateurs pour moduler l’expérience des participant·e·s. et l’animation des voiles, une dynamique tangible, visuelle et réactive a été générée, atteignant ainsi un objectif clé dans la redéfinition de l’expérience cinématographique à travers l’entrelacement des interactions sensorielles et matérielles.

Fonctionnant simultanément comme salle de projection des Ondes Grises, studio de tournage documentant le processus et laboratoire d’expérimentation, cet espace s’est mis à incarner un dispositif autopoïétique où les scénarios surgissent des interactions entre matières médiatiques et participant·e·s. Les collaborateur·rice·s, visiteur·euse·s et créateur·rice·s sont tou·te·s invité·e·s à devenir des agent·e·s actif·ve·s d’une ontologie en constante mutation. Les voiles, oscillant sous l’effet des courants d’air, deviennent écran et membrane, surface et profondeur, révélant la fluidité et l’évolution du processus de création. Ainsi, la scénographie médiatique, enrichie par une recherche ethnographique utilisant la caméra et le dessin, aspire à incarner la fluidité entre les « textes » et les disciplines.

Bourdaa, M. (2012). Le Transmédia: entre narration augmentée et logiques immersives [en ligne].

Derrida, J. (1967). De la grammatologie. Les Éditions de Minuit.

Genette, G. (1982). Palimpsestes : La littérature au second degré. Seuil.

Jenkis, H (2006) Convergence culture. Where old and new media collide, NYU Press, 2006.

McLuhan, M. (1968). Pour comprendre les médias : Les prolongements technologiques de l’homme (J. Paré, Trad.). Mame/Seuil.

Zenouda, H. (2020), Micrologies N°1. Optical sound


Crédit photo : Hraïr Hratchian

Julien Dajez [membre étudiant, UQAM] se sert de l’audiovisuel comme vecteur d’ouverture sur d’autres pratiques. À l’intersection de l’approche critique et de l’expérimentation méthodologique, il développe des stratégies pour mettre sous tension les normes esthétiques et narratives en explorant la fluidité entre les disciplines de la recherche expérimentale et le flot de création d’une œuvre médiatique. Julien Dajez a reçu plusieurs distinctions pour ses créations audiovisuelles, notamment une mention honoraire à Ars Electronica pour Ū-Man (Non-Humain) qui a obtenu le prix de la Meilleure Bande Son au CST/SACEM, le prix Synthesys IV et un prix Pixel/Ina à Imagina pour Biozoo qui a été présenté à l’Electronic Theatre du Siggraph et à obtenu le Best Vidéo Paint Design aux International Monitor Awards. En tant que réalisateur et directeur artistique pour la mode et la publicité, il a collaboré avec des marques telles que Dior, Cartier, Garnier et Première Vision, réalisé le design vidéo-scénique du Mylénium Tour de Mylène Farmer, conçu le design graphique du journal télévisé de TF1 (France), réalisé des virgules d’habillage TV pour MTV Europe et Nicktoons à New York.

Remerciements

Julien Dajez remercie le réseau Hexagram et son co-directeur Sofian Audry, ainsi que Martin Archambault, Max Boutin, Stéphane Gladyszewski, Hraïr Hratchian, Stefan Sao Nelet, Laeticia Philantrope, Jason Pomrenski, Etienne Sanche, Hervé Zénouda, Nadia Seraiocco et Frédéric Maheux pour leur atelier inspirant sur ChatGPT. Il exprime également sa gratitude à Hugo Dalphond, professeur à l’École supérieure de théâtre de l’UQAM, et à Louis-Claude Paquin, directeur de sa recherche-création à l’École des médias de l’UQAM.

Cette publication est également disponible en : English (Anglais)