DEMO8 ALMA – Fragments: Poetics of Otherness

Fragments: Poetics of Otherness is an audiovisual performance for human performers and autonomous computer processes. The work reflects on how data processing Artificial Intelligence systems anonymize and aestheticize human conflicts. In a short video presentation, the artists discuss the aesthetic, technical, and reflexive aspects of the work. They present their creation process, the role of technologies in their creative decisions, and the modes of cooperation they develop with autonomous computational processes.

Presented as part of the Hexagram Network Garden at the Ars Electronica Festival 2021

BIOGRAPHIES

Alexandre Saunier is a inter-disciplinary artist who works at the intersection between light, video, autonomous systems, and sensory perception. He holds a master in sound design from the ENS Louis Lumière (Paris), and participated in research in robotic design and interactive lighting at the ENS Arts Décoratifs (Paris). He is now pursuing a research-creation PhD program at Concordia University in which he develops the concept of “performative lighting” at the intersection between lighting design, media arts, and Complex System theory. His artistic work and academic research has been presented and published in various international venues such as Mutek, Ars Electronica, Impakt Festival, MuffatHalle, Bcn_llum, Toronto’s Nuit Blanche, or Media Art History.

Marc-André Cossette is a Canadian trans-disciplinary artist working on the relation between technology and performing arts using sound, visual, and interaction design. Marc-André holds a BA in Interactive Media and a Master’s in Experimental Media (UQAM). He is now pursuing a PhD program at Concordia University in which he explores the use of Artificial Intelligence and Artificial Life algorithms to create generative dance performances. In addition to his research-creation practice, Marc-André has collaborated with several artists as a sound, visual, interaction, and stage designer. He is also the co-creator and co-host of the REC podcast series on research-creation produced in collaboration with CHOQ.fm and the Hexagram Network.

DEMO8 ALMA – Fragments: Poetics of Otherness

Fragments : Poetics of Otherness est une performance audiovisuelle pour interprètes humains et processus informatiques autonomes. L’œuvre réfléchit à la manière dont les systèmes de traitement des données par Intelligence Artificielle anonymisent et esthétisent les conflits humains. Dans une courte présentation vidéo, les artistes discutent des aspects esthétiques, techniques et réflexifs de l’œuvre. Ils présentent leur processus de création, le rôle des technologies dans leurs décisions créatives, et les modes de coopération qu’ils développent avec les processus informatiques autonomes.

Présenté dans le cadre du Hexagram Network Garden au festival Ars Electronica 2021.

BIOGRAPHIES

Alexandre Saunier est un artiste interdisciplinaire qui travaille à l’intersection de la lumière, la vidéo, les systèmes autonomes et la perception sensorielle. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en conception sonore de l’ENS Louis Lumière (Paris), et a participé à des recherches en conception robotique et en éclairage interactif à l’ENS Arts Décoratifs (Paris). Il poursuit actuellement un programme de doctorat en recherche-création à l’Université Concordia dans lequel il développe le concept « d’éclairage performatif » à l’intersection entre le design d’éclairage, les arts médiatiques et la théorie des systèmes complexes. Son travail artistique et ses recherches académiques ont été présentés et publiés dans divers lieux internationaux tels que Mutek, Ars Electronica, Impakt Festival, MuffatHalle, Bcn_llum, Nuit Blanche de Toronto, et Media Art History.

Marc-André Cossette est un artiste canadien transdisciplinaire qui articule technologie et arts de la scène en utilisant le design sonore, visuel et d’interaction. Marc-André détient un baccalauréat en médias interactifs et une maîtrise en médias expérimentaux (UQAM). Il poursuit actuellement un programme de doctorat à l’Université Concordia dans lequel il explore l’utilisation d’algorithmes d’Intelligence Artificielle et de Vie Artificielle pour créer des performances de danse génératives. En plus de sa pratique de recherche-création, Marc-André a collaboré avec plusieurs artistes en tant que concepteur sonore, visuel, d’interaction et de scène. Il est également le co-créateur et le co-animateur de la série de podcasts REC sur la recherche-création produite en collaboration avec CHOQ.fm et le Réseau Hexagram.