DEMO1 Olivia Mc Gilchrist

February 2021

As a first DEMO, Hexagram presents Olivia Mc Gilchrist’s [Hexagram student member, Concordia University] research-creation residency, which will take place in two residencies at Le Petit Théâtre du Vieux-Noranda. Last February, she participated in the co-creation of a performative and interactive experience that links the world of video games and the performing arts. During that first phase, Olivia contributed to the development of the critical and conceptual framework of this laboratory, taking place in the framework of research-creation activities led by Jean-Ambroise Vesac [Hexagram co-investigator, Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue] and digital artist. The multidisciplinary team collaborating on this project consists of researchers, professional artists, students, technicians, as well as the French studio THEORIZ.

The documentation below focuses on this first part of the co-creation process. Stay tuned for the further developments of this DEMO!

Photo Crédits: Élisabeth Carrier

OLIVIA’S RESEARCH-CREATION – Virtual ISLANDS: Submersion and Hybrid Identity in Virtual Reality

Prompted by the question “what might a Caribbean future look like?” (Pearce, 2015), Olivia’s research-creation project investigates VR as a decolonial tool (Tuck and Yang, 2012) through the notion of Caribbean futures. Virtual ISLANDS combines a written thesis and a Virtual Reality and video installation tying together Caribbean futures and the possibility of submersion as a postcolonial stance within VR-making practice. Grounded in the violent histories of the Transatlantic slave trade her thesis juxtaposes Black Atlantic (Gilroy, 1993) art histories with a tidalectic (Brathwaite, 1999) formulation of water as a historical space in VR creation. To counter the Western influence of the Hegelian dialectic of thesis / antithesis / synthesis, Brathwaite proposes a tidal poetics, or tidalectics, where the constant ebb and flow of the tides around Caribbean islands are constitutive to the philosophical framework around Caribbean identities. Drawing from the submerged histories of the Middle Passage in the aftermath of Transatlantic slavery, where much of the archive lies below the sea, this project invites a reading of VR practices as aesthetic/artistic creation foregrounding submersion over immersion in VR experiences.

This experiential artwork combines a series of volumetric self-portraits with a sound composition by electroacoustic composer Kasey Pocius. Virtual ISLANDs disrupt conventional uses of volumetric capture technology to portray a gestural response to a virtual experience of being in water.

Find out more about Olivia’s project here.

BIOGRAPHY

A multimedia artist engaged in questions about identity, I have exhibited in Canada, Jamaica, the USA, Brazil, Germany, Norway, Austria, France, Switzerland, and the UK. I completed a Photography MA (London College of Communication, 2010). I’m pursuing the Individualized PhD at Concordia University, with Professors MJ Thompson, Lynn Hughes and Alice Ming Wai Jim. My research-creation project is provisionally entitled: “Virtual ISLANDs, postcolonial hybrid identities in Virtual Reality.” Building on my own experience as a white Euro-Jamaican, and past research in the portrayal of my hybrid identity within contemporary Jamaican culture, I’m exploring how this can be represented in VR. Building on research in the central role of water in Caribbean cultures, my project is informed by the violent histories of transatlantic slavery and Atlantic modernity, through the framework of Paul Gilroy’s notion of the “Black Atlantic.” This project invites a reading of VR practices towards aesthetic/artistic aims through the exploration of submersion as an alternative notion to describe VR’s immersive experience.

Banner image : Work in progress, Virtual ISLANDS (2020), Unity 3D screenshot with volumetric self portrait.

DEMO1 Olivia Mc Gilchrist

Février 2021

Hexagram lance la première DEMO de 2021 en présentant la résidence de recherche-création d’Olivia Mc Gilchrist [Membre étudiante Hexagram, Université Concordia], qui se déroule en deux temps au Le Petit Théâtre du Vieux-Noranda. En février, la doctorante a participé à la co-création d’une expérience performative et interactive qui lie l’univers du jeu vidéo et des arts vivants. Lors de cette première phase, Olivia a contribué à l’élaboration du cadre critique et conceptuel de ce laboratoire qui s’inscrit dans les activités de recherche-création menées par Jean-Ambroise Vesac [membre co-chercheur Hexagram, Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue] et artiste numérique. L’équipe multidisciplinaire qui collabore à ce projet est constituée de chercheur-e-s, artistes professionnels, étudiant-e-s, techniciens, ainsi que le studio français THEORIZ.

La documentation ci-dessous porte sur ce premier processus de co-création. Restez à l’affût pour le développement de cette DÉMO!

Crédits Photo: Élisabeth Carrier

LA RECHERCHE-CRÉATION DE OLIVIA – Virtual ISLANDS: Submersion and Hybrid Identity in Virtual Reality

Motivé par la question « à quoi peut ressembler un futur caribéen ? » (Pearce, 2015), le projet de recherche-création d’Olivia s’intéresse à la réalité virtuelle en tant qu’outil décolonial (Tuck et Yang, 2012) à travers la notion de “futurs caribéens”. Virtual ISLANDS combine une thèse écrite et une installation de réalité virtuelle et vidéo liant les “futurs caribéens” aux possibilités de la submersion comme posture postcoloniale au sein des pratiques de RV. Ancrée dans les histoires violentes de la traite transatlantique des esclaves, sa thèse juxtapose les histoires de l’art de l’Atlantique noir (Gilroy, 1993) à la formulation “tidalectique” (Brathwaite, 1999) de l’eau comme espace historique au sein duquel s’ancre la RV. Pour contrer l’influence occidentale de la dialectique hégélienne thèse/ antithèse/synthèse, Brathwaite propose une poétique des marées, ou tidalectique, où le flux et le reflux constants des marées autour des îles des Caraïbes sont constitutifs du cadre philosophique des identités caribéennes. S’inspirant des histoires submergées du Passage du Milieu, où une grande partie des archives se trouve sous la mer, ce projet invite à une lecture des pratiques de RV en tant que création esthétique/artistique mettant en avant l’expérience de submersion plutôt que celle de l’immersion.

Cette œuvre d’art expérientielle combine une série d’autoportraits volumétriques avec une composition sonore du compositeur électroacoustique Kasey Pocius. Virtual ISLANDs perturbe les utilisations conventionnelles de la technologie de capture volumétrique pour représenter la réponse gestuelle à l’expérience virtuelle d’être sous l’eau.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le travail d’Olivia, c’est ici.

BIOGRAPHIE

Artiste multimédia engagée dans les questions identitaires, j’ai grandi en Jamaïque, au Royaume-Uni et en France en tant que franco-jamaïcaine blanche. J’ai obtenu une maîtrise en photographie (London College of Communication, 2010). Je poursuis le doctorat individualisé à l’Université Concordia, avec les professeurs MJ Thompson, Lynn Hughes et Alice Ming Wai Jim. Mon projet de recherche-création est provisoirement intitulé : « Îles virtuelles, identités hybrides post-coloniales dans la réalité virtuelle ». En me basant sur ma propre expérience en tant qu’Euro-Caribéenne blanche, et sur mes recherches passées sur la représentation de mon identité hybride dans la culture jamaïcaine contemporaine, j’explore comment celle-ci peut être représentée dans la RV. S’appuyant sur des recherches sur le rôle central de l’eau dans les cultures des Caraïbes, mon projet est éclairé par l’histoire violente de l’esclavage transatlantique et de la modernité atlantique, dans le cadre de la notion d' »Atlantique noir » de Paul Gilroy. Ce projet invite à une lecture des pratiques de RV vers des objectifs esthétiques/artistiques à travers l’exploration de la submersion comme notion alternative pour décrire l’expérience immersive de la RV.

Image principale : Projets en cours, Virtual ISLANDS (2020), Capture d’écran Unity 3D avec autoportrait volumétrique.