DEMO4 Ahreum Lee – Multiple selves

February 2021

Multiple Selves is an experimental sound piece that contains three songs titled “Glitch Ghosts” “Glitch is Error” and “Ghost Echoes.” These songs were generated by a text-to-speech application created by the artist and three choir members mimicking the sound of an artificially generated voice. This project can be presented as a three-channel video installation or as a live performance by the choir.

Continue reading

Call for applications – The REC Podcast

The REC Podcast is expanding its team!

Are you interested in the popularization and dissemination of research-creation?

The REC research-creation podcast (rec.hexagram.ca) is currently looking for collaborators to expand its team. We are looking for people who can assist us with the coordination of our activities as well as take part in the research, production and animation of content, depending on their motivation. This is a great way to contribute to the Hexagram Network’s dissemination mission and getting in touch with interesting and renowned academics while developing a media and podcasting experience. Continue reading

DEMO3 Ké Medley – Compartment_Complex

February 2021

With Compartment_Complex, an interactive multi-screen video installation, Ké Medley asks: how does one subvert analog video’s obsolescence to engender new forms of mediated experience and prevent its eclipse from media history? In appropriating and subverting the aging aesthetic of CRT televisions, his primary objective is to better understand the implications of obsolescence and explore new ways of experiencing materiality.

Medley’s research places itself firmly in the field of Media Archeology. Materiality is a fundamental component of his research, where he investigates both the technical and cultural components of past media objects such as analog video. He is particularly interested in artifacts of mundane life or bygone eras, putting an emphasis “on the forgotten, the quirky, the non-obvious apparatuses, practices and inventions” (Parikka, 2013).

Continue reading

SUR_EXPOSITION : DISSEMINATION OR CREATION?

Digital creation, dissemination and mediation through the new online immersive spaces.

This event is open to the public on our Youtube channel. Organized by UQAC – École NAD, Laboratoire MIMESIS and Hexagram.

The MIMESIS laboratory (École NAD-UQAC) and Hexagram present 3 lunch-meetings to bring together creators, researchers, experts and students, who will present their work and initiatives on modalities of artistic creation, dissemination, and mediation through the new virtual and immersive spaces.

Faced with the physical social distancing imposed throughout this past year, creators had to devise – often to improvise – new work processes and dissemination strategies. The (im)material conditions of production and exhibition, as well as the urgency to acquire new skills suddenly accelerated learning curves, prompted distributed collaborations, and instigated new modalities of presentation. Although digital creation is well-anchored in the landscape of Montreal’s art, cultural and creative industries, the “frame” [le cadre] of these creations is once again being probed.

During these three lunch-meetings, we will examine the new “out-of-frame” objects that emerged in the 2020-20XX context: creative works that no longer correspond to a specific genre or discipline, to a space, a type of institution or a designated audience. We will discuss digital, virtual and online interpretations of pre-existing projects, new ways for experiencing digital creations, case-studies of access and interactions enhanced by new technologies, and other forms of aesthetic experimentation.

Continue reading

DEMO2 Vanessa Mardirossian : The Culture of Color: An Ecoliteracy of Textile Design

February 2021

What are the ecological implications of textile design? This question, which guides Vanessa Mardirossian’s research-creation process, allows us to reflect on a critical approach to materiality through the design of wearable biomaterials. Our second DEMO focuses on the exhibition “Culture of Color: An Ecoliteracy of Textile Design” which presents Mardirossian’s tinctorial exploration. For her, documenting the process was central. This written, visual and tactile memory work allows her to refine her thinking and her production through action. In the laboratory, experimental trial and error is part of her methodology.

Continue reading

Call For Applications To Become A Hexagram Student Member

Deadline: April 30, 2021
Hexagram launches its call for applications to become a student member of the international network comprised of 45 co-investigators and over 200 collaborators and student members. The Network collaborates with several cultural and research institutions in Québec, Canada and internationally to organize and promote art and science events that aim to exchange knowledge between experts from different disciplines, and disseminate new forms of artistic creation in the public space.
Continue reading

Call for Projects: Fall 2021 Programming

This call for contributions is the gateway to the DEMO component of the Hexagram Network’s programming at UQAM.
It comprises the two following streams:

  • Residency Program
  • Organization of a group activity

General Terms and Conditions

  • The support offered by Hexagram consists of equipment loans, space preparation and basic technical assistance. It does not include ongoing support from staff. Additional costs for intensive training or coaching will be charged to applicants according to the salary rates effective at UQAM personnel.
  • Needs should be assessed and planned as much as possible with the help of the technical coordinator before an application is submitted.

Deadline : April 18, 2021.
Information : hexagram@uqam.ca
Fill out this form to submit a project.

Continue reading

DEMO4 Ahreum Lee – Multiple selves

February 2021

Multiple Selves est une pièce sonore expérimentale composée de trois chansons intitulées Glitch Ghosts, Glitch is Error et Ghost Echoes. Ces chansons ont été générées par une application de synthèse vocale créée par l’artiste et trois choristes imitant le son d’une voix générée artificiellement. Ce projet peut être présenté sous la forme d’une installation vidéo à trois canaux ou d’une performance en direct par le chœur.

Continue reading

Appel à candidatures – The REC Podcast

Appel à candidatures – Le balado REC agrandit son équipe!

La vulgarisation et la diffusion de la recherche-création vous intéressent?

Le balado de recherche-création REC (rec.hexagram.ca) est présentement à la recherche de collaborateur-trice-s pour agrandir son équipe. Nous cherchons une ou des personnes qui pourront nous assister avec la coordination de nos activités en plus de prendre part à la recherche, la production et l’animation des contenus selon leurs motivations. Il s’agit d’une superbe façon de contribuer à la mission de diffusion du réseau Hexagram et d’échanger avec des interlocuteur-trice-s d’intérêt et de renom tout en développant de l’expérience médiatique en baladodiffusion.

Continue reading

DEMO3 Ké Medley – Compartment_Complex

February 2021

Comment subvertir l’obsolescence de la vidéo analogique pour engendrer de nouvelles formes d’expérience médiatique et empêcher son éclipse de l’histoire des médias?Compartment_Complex est une installation vidéo interactive multi-écrans par laquelle Ké Medley s’approprie et subvertie l’esthétique vieillissante des téléviseurs à tube cathodique afin de mieux comprendre les implications de l’obsolescence et d’explorer de nouvelles façons d’expérimenter la matérialité.

Continue reading

SUR_EXPOSITION : DIFFUSION OU CRÉATION?

La création, diffusion et médiation numériques par les nouveaux espaces immersifs en ligne

Évènement ouvert au public via notre chaine youtube. Organisé par UQAC – École NAD, Laboratoire MIMESIS et Hexagram

Le laboratoire MIMESIS (École NAD-UQAC) et le réseau Hexagram présentent 3 midi-rencontres entre créateurs.rices et chercheur.e.s, expert.e.s et étudiant.e.s, pour présenter des travaux et des initiatives portant sur les modalités de création, de diffusion, et de médiation artistiques par les nouveaux espaces virtuels et immersifs.

Face à la distanciation physique sociale imposée au long de cette dernière année, les processus de travail et les stratégies de diffusion des créateurs ont dû être repensés, parfois improvisés. Les conditions (im)matérielles de production et d’exposition ainsi que l’urgence d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences ont précipité des apprentissages, des collaborations davantage distribuées, et des modalités de monstration inédites. Bien que la création numérique soit déjà ancrée dans l’écosystème de l’art, de la culture et des industries créatives montréalaises, le cadre de ces créations est encore une fois interrogé.

Continue reading

DEMO2 Vanessa Mardirossian : Culture de la couleur : Une écolittératie du design textile

February 2021

Quels sont les enjeux écologiques du design textile? Cette question, qui oriente le processus de recherche-création de Vanessa Mardirossian permet de réfléchir à une approche critique de la matérialité grâce à la conception de biomatières à porter. Ce deuxième DEMO porte sur l’exposition « Culture de la Couleur : Une écolittératie du design textile » qui présente l’exploration tinctoriale de Mardirossian. Pour cette dernière, la documentation du processus a été centrale. Ce travail de mémoire, autant écrit, que visuel et tactile, permet de mûrir sa réflexion et sa production par l’action. En laboratoire, le tâtonnement expérientiel et l’essai-erreur font partie de sa méthodologie.

Continue reading

Appel à Candidatures: Pour Devenir Membre Étudiant.e à Hexagram

Date limite : 30 avril 2021

Hexagram lance son appel à candidatures pour devenir membre étudiant.e au sein de son réseau international constitué de 45 chercheurs et chercheuses et de plus de 200 membres collaborateurs et membres étudiant.e.s chercheurs. Le réseau collabore avec plusieurs dizaines d’organismes culturels et d’institutions de recherche du Québec, du Canada et de l’international pour l’organisation d’évènements artistiques et scientifiques visant le partage de connaissances entre experts provenant de différentes disciplines, et la diffusion de nouvelles formes de création dans l’espace public.
Continue reading

Appel à Projets : Programmation Automne 2021

Cet appel à contribution est la porte d’entrée à l’UQAM du volet DÉMO de la programmation du Réseau Hexagram.
Il comporte les volets suivants :

  • Programme de résidences
  • Organisation d’activités collectives

Modalités générales

  • Le soutien offert se limite au prêt d’équipement, à la préparation des locaux et à l’aide technique de base. Il ne comprend pas le soutien continu de la part du personnel. Les frais supplémentaires de formation ou d’accompagnement intensif seront facturés aux requérants selon les tarifs salariaux respectant les conditions en vigueur pour le personnel de l’UQAM.
  • Les besoins doivent être analysés et planifiés autant que possible avec l’aide de la coordination technique avant le dépôt de la demande.

Échéance : 18 avril 2021
Informations : hexagram@uqam.ca
Remplissez ce formulaire pour participer à l’appel à projets.
Continue reading