DEMO18 Timothy Thomasson – Slow Track

March 2022

This DEMO presents Timothy Thomasson’s [student member, Concordia] work, Slow Track, exhibited in his upcoming show at the ELEKTRA Gallery, Montreal, from March 10 to April 16, 2022.

Slow Track is a computer-generated video which restrains the limitless visual possibilities found in current computer animation technologies. With the intention of questioning the structural and aesthetic nature of the virtual image, Slow Track forgoes the excess, speed, surrealism, sci-fi, and fantasy commonly associated with computer-generated imagery.The work deploys a hyperrealistic, slow, gentle, and possibly mundane image which is wary of the software that produces it. The spotless, sterile virtual spaces commonly rendered in architectural visualizations are replaced here by spaces with dust, dirt, and clutter. Although rendered to approach photorealistic image quality, the images on screen have no real-world bearing. They are generated fully with a computer whose production amounts to thousands of silent ‘image files’. There is no blowing wind, and the places depicted are nowhere in particular.

Rather than a CG image that seduces us with excess, this is one which asks for patience. On screen, the digital perspective slowly moves backwards, then forward, oscillating between two fixed positions while traversing newly emerging environments. Attention seems to linger on mundane objects: a scratched can, a bathroom stall, or leaves blowing in the wind. The animation unravels slowly. Things are left unexplained, and there is a focus on static or slowly moving frames. The sound in the work plays with the audio conventions associated with computer games, motion graphics, and advertisements—constantly reminding the viewer of the artificiality of these images.

  • Slow Track clips

Biographies

Timothy Thomasson is a digital artist based in Montreal. His work questions the ways moving images are produced and consumed within historic and contemporary contexts, particularly examining the effect computer generated images have on society, culture, and perception. He works primarily with computer animation, and utilizes real-time computer graphics technologies in many of his works to create continually generative environments and systems. Thomasson holds a BFA and MDes (expected 2022) from Concordia University in Design and Computation Arts. Thomasson’s work has been presented in various galleries and festivals in Montreal including during Eastern Bloc Sight and Sound (2021), and MUTEK (2021). His work has also been nominated for the New Technological Art Awards [NTAA] (2022) in Ghent, Belgium.

DEMO18 Timothy Thomasson – Slow Track

Mars 2022

Cette DÉMO présente l’œuvre de Timothy Thomasson [membre étudiant, Concordia], Slow Track, exposée dans le cadre de sa prochaine exposition à la galerie ELEKTRA, à Montréal, du 10 mars au 16 avril 2022.

Slow Track est une vidéo générée par ordinateur qui restreint les possibilités visuelles illimitées offertes par les technologies d’animation numériques actuelles. Dans le but de remettre en question la nature structurelle et esthétique de l’image virtuelle, Slow Track renonce à l’excès, à la vitesse, au surréalisme, à la science-fiction et à la fantaisie généralement associés à l’imagerie générée par ordinateur. Les espaces virtuels impeccables et stériles couramment représentés dans les visualisations architecturales sont remplacés ici par des espaces poussiéreux, sales et encombrés. Bien que leurs rendus soient proche de la qualité photoréaliste, les images à l’écran n’ont aucun ancrage dans la réalité. Elles sont entièrement générées par un ordinateur dont la production se résume à des milliers de « fichiers d’images » muets. Le vent ne souffle pas vraiment, et les lieux représentés sont partout et nulle part à la fois.

Plutôt que de présenter des images de synthèse qui nous séduisent par l’excès, ces images exigent notre patience. À l’écran, la perspective numérique recule lentement, puis avance, oscillant entre deux positions fixes tout en traversant de nouveaux environnements. L’attention semble s’attarder sur des objets banals : une canette rayée, une cabine de toilettes ou des feuilles dans le vent. L’animation se déroule lentement. Les choses restent inexpliquées et l’accent est mis sur les images statiques ou en mouvement lent. Le son de l’œuvre joue avec les conventions audio associées aux jeux vidéo, aux graphiques animés et aux publicités, rappelant constamment au spectateur le caractère artificiel de ces images.

  • Extraits de Slow Track

Biographies

Timothy Thomasson est un artiste numérique basé à Montréal. Son travail remet en question la façon dont les images en mouvement sont produites et consommées dans des contextes historiques et contemporains, en examinant particulièrement l’effet des images générées par ordinateur sur la société, la culture et la perception. Il travaille principalement avec l’animation par ordinateur et utilise les technologies d’infographie en temps réel dans plusieurs de ses œuvres pour créer des environnements et des systèmes continuellement génératifs. Thomasson est titulaire d’un BFA et d’un MDes (prévu pour 2022) de l’Université Concordia en design et arts informatiques. Le travail de Thomasson a été présenté dans diverses galeries et festivals à Montréal, notamment lors de Eastern Bloc : Sight and Sound (2021) et MUTEK (2021). Son travail a également été mis en nomination pour le New Technological Art Awards [NTAA] (2022) à Gand, en Belgique.