Hexagram x ELEKTRA – MATERIA : Laboratoire public de création de savoirs numériques

September 8-9-10, 2022 – Îlot Balmoral

ELEKTRA, in collaboration with Hexagram present MATERIA : Laboratoire public de création de savoirs numériques.

This event will bring together, over three consecutive days, local and international artists, creators, scientists, researchers and professionals from the artistic and cultural sectors. Invited guests and visitors, along with a team of mediators, will also participate in this arena of creation and knowledge sharing, at the intersections of art, design, science, and multiple forms of knowledge and forms of knowing.

Practice-based exchanges around technological and material conditions are the central premises of the Labo Public. Divided into 10 thematic clusters, the collaborative and radically multidisciplinary explorations at each cluster will unfold along a central theme: MATERIA, which questions the return to materiality, working with matter and tangible media in response to the frantic development of the virtual realm.

The collaborative material practices at the heart of this unique event will open perspectives and avenues for new works and artistic creations. The setting of the Labo in a publicly accessible space and the mediation programme will promote dissemination of research and creation amongst diverse groups and publics. A public presentation of the clusters’ work and themes will take place in the afternoon of Saturday, September 10.

MATERIA :  Laboratoire public de création de savoirs numériques aims to:

  • increase mutual exchanges knowledge and skills through the aesthetic and technical exploration of new technologies and creative approaches;
  • initiate or consolidate interdisciplinary collaborations based on shared material practices;
  • strengthen the dialogue between disciplines, sectors of the artistic and cultural milieu, academic research and creation, and diverse audiences;
  • demonstrate the links between artistic creation, technological innovation and scientific research;
  • promote the discovery of new practices across sectors and societal groups;
  • develop new artistic and cultural proposals;

The clusters

  • SOFT ROBOTICS: FORM, INFORM, DEFORM.

    Photo : Anna Schaeffner

    Participants:

    • Samuel Bianchini, Artist, Professor-researcher, Ensad Paris [FR] (module initiator)
    • Raphaëlle Kerbrat, Student-researcher, EnsAD [FR]
    • Anna Schaeffner, Student-researcher, EnsAD [FR]
    • Ariane Plante, Curator in digital art [CA-QC]
    • Matthew Halpenny, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Philippe Vandal, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Don Undeen, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    Soft, deformable robotics do not respond to the geometry or the control systems of traditional, hard and articulated robotics. How to elaborate such flexible and active objects while taking into account their materiality, their modalities of action as well as their particular aesthetics and symbolism? To address this question, participants will experiment with different techniques (Nitinol, gel, bioplastic, …) including pneumatic systems for which air is as much a vector of deformation as a breathing resource. This medium will be explored in relation to membranes, in close collaboration with the module “Bio-inspired flexible membranes and adaptive surfaces”. This approach aims more broadly to rethink our ways of inhabiting the world, in a renewed relationship with the environment.
  • BIO-INSPIRED SOFT MEMBRANES AND ADAPTIVE SURFACES

    Photo : Samuel Bianchini

    Participants:

    • Alice Jarry, Artist-researcher, Assistant Professor, Concordia University [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Marie-Pier Boucher, Assistant Professor, University of Toronto [CA-QC/ON] (module initiator)
    • Miranda Smitheram, Professor-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Alex Bachmayer, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Jacqui Beaumont, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Vanessa Mardirossian, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Brice Ammar-Khodja, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]
    • Lee Wilkins, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC]

    In this cluster, participants will engage with the growth and maintenance processes of bio-inspired membranes such as bioplastics, algae, invasive plant species, and abaca. The flexible and filtering properties of these surfaces will inform the creation of foldable and adaptive membranes. In close collaboration with the module “Soft Robotics: Form, Inform, Deform”, the behaviours of these membranes will be tested using pneumatic systems and airflows relevant to “soft robotics”. Practice-based activities will relate to discussions and visits of urban sites addressing the critical, social and political dimensions of air and membranes in the built environment.
  • CO-SITUATED COLLECTIVE INTERACTIVITY USING HANDHELD SMARTPHONES

    Photo Christian Mamoun

    Participants:

    • Dominique Cunin, Artist-researcher, Ensad-Paris, ESAD-Valence [FR] (module initiator)
    • Emmanuel Durand, Co-director Metalab-SAT [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Anaëlle Sermanson, Student-researcher, ESAD-Valence [FR]
    EnsadLab (Ensad – Paris) joins the MetaLab of SAT (Montreal-QC) for a research and creation module around their tools dedicated to interactive art creation. LivePose, a software for detecting human bodies from a video stream, and Mobilizing.js, a tool for creating co-sited collective interactivity using smartphones, will be used together for the first time. The aim is to question the possible relations between “bare” hands and hands equipped with a smartphone. Which hand will take control over the other? How can mobile screens encourage the production of a gesture, but also account for the realization of this gesture, especially with several participants?
  • SUPER-OBJECTS: A MORE-THAN-HUMAN APPROACH TO AI

    Photo : groupe des objets révolutionnaires

    Participants:

    • Filipe PAIS, Researcher, Ensad-Paris [FR], Associate Professor, Noroff University [NO], Curator (module initiator)
    • Corentin Loubet, Designer, Student-researcher, Ensad-Paris [FR]
    This cluster explores the notion of Super-object through prototype building. This speculative concept inspired by research in Behavioural objects, and by the writings of José Saramago, a novel and fiction writer, offers a potential to imagine future modes of existence and co-habitation with powerful non-human agents with complex forms of agency. This workshop will use a more-than-human approach to design, asking questions such as: what happens when we de-centralize humans in the complex networks of power? The workshop will use the MisB Kit as the main prototyping tool.
  • MIXED REALITIES AROUND THE CORNER.

    Photo : Jean-Ambroise Vesac

    Participants:

    • Jean-Ambroise Vesac, Artist-researcher, Professor-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Jean-Pierre Flayeux, Professor-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Dominic Lafontaine, Anicinabe digital artist [CA-QC]
    • Jean-Marc Nielly, Programmer, UQAT [CA-QC]

    This cluster will explore the materiality of urban places and digital performativity in mixed reality: it will entail creating a series of micro-experiences based on digitized urban spaces transformed into virtual stages open to participatory and surprising games as well as diverse avant-garde artistic expression.
  • TEXTUROLOGIES: EXPERIMENTAL SKATEBOARDING.

    Photo : Max Boutin

    Participants:

    • Max Boutin, Multidisciplinary artist, UQÀM [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Marc-André Cossette, Artists, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC], ALMA
    • Brian Glenney, Philosopher-researcher-skateboarder, Norwich University [US]
    • Alexis Lacroix, Skateboarder and Musician [CA-QC]
    • Louis-Philippe Rondeau, Professor-researcher, UQAC-NAD [CA-QC]
    • Mathieu Deblois, Skateboarder, Artist, Student-researcher, UQAC-NAD [CA-QC]

    This cluster brings together artists, researchers and skateboarders to think about new forms of knowledge emerging from digital art and skateboarding. Inspired by Max Boutin’s research interests based on the concept of “texturology”, this module interrogates our perception of urban space through the sensoriality of skateboarding. It aims to explore sound, image and vibrations to create real-time experiments where skateboarding becomes a performative artistic act.
  • SONO-(SORO)RIDADES: PODCAST PRODUCTION THROUGH COLLECTIVITY AND INTERSECTIONAL DIALOGUES

    Photo : Alexis Bellavance

    Participants:

    • Amanda Gutierrez, Student-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Laura Balboa, Independent artist and Designer (module initiator)
    • Maira Bielma Perez, Independent Artist
    • Jen Castro, Activist and Member of Digital Democracy

    This cluster deals with Marcela Legarde’s concept of sororidad (2006) which is understood as a non-binary, ethical, political and practical dimension of contemporary feminism(s). For this proposal, the participants will launch a workshop on radio podcast production, considering methodologies and techniques that sound producers from Latin America have explored.
  • ECOCREATION AND 3D PRINTING OF INDUSTRIAL RESIDUAL MATERIALS

    Photo : Martin Beauregard

    Participants:

    • Martin Beauregard, Artist, Professor-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Yuchen Guo, Student-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Zeineb Siala, Student-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Sarra Héllaoui, Student-researcher, UQAT [CA-QC]
    How can 3D printing contribute to the creation of new forms of materiality in relationships to art and ecology? The overall objective of the proposed research-creation activities is to rethink and redefine the paradigm of 3D printing object fabrication as well as preconceptions related to the production and management of industrial residual materials or waste. This workshop will allow participants to become familiar with research-creation and experimental research approaches in an interdisciplinary or intersectoral perspective, as well as various technical processes and concepts from the fields of ecological art practice, ecodesign, and sensory design.
  • IMMERSIVE VISUALIZATION OF EMOTIONS IN REAL TIME

    Photo : Yan Breuleux

    Participants:

    • Yan Breuleux, Professor-researcher, NAD-UQAC [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Marie-Eve Bilodeau, Master in electrical engineering, ÉTS [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Linda Paquette, Professor in Clinical Psychology, UQAC [CA-QC]
    • Rémi Lapierre, Programmer [CA-QC]
    • Antoine Langevin, Student, ÉTS [CA-QC]

    How can a user, connected to a physiological interface, recognize themselves or find forms reflecting their personality?  Following an experimental approach, participants will be invited to design prototypes of immersive environment and propose tools to lay the groundwork for a human-machine reflection on immersive visualization of emotions.
  • THE BODY AND THE MIND IN THE DIGITAL AGE

    Photo : Nora Gibson

    Participant·e·s:

    • Nora Gibson, Student-Researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC] (module initiator)
    • Gabrielle Couillard, Student-researcher, UQAM [CA-QC (module initiator)
    • Cecilia Kramar, Research Associate, McGill University [CA-QC], Convergence Initiative
    • Cristian A. Zaelzer, Professor-researcher, Concordia University [CA-QC], Convergence Initiative

    This cluster will develop a prototype for an interactive installation which will allow participants to explore different sensorial, emotional, and psychological states, with a particular focus on the markers and underlying processes for empathy.

Hexagram x ELEKTRA – MATERIA : Laboratoire public de création de savoirs numériques

Les 8-9-10 septembre 2022 – Îlot Balmoral

ELEKTRA, en collaboration avec Hexagram, organise MATERIA : le Laboratoire public de création de savoirs numériques.

Cet événement réunira, sur 3 jours consécutifs, des artistes, créateurs et créatrices, scientifiques, professionnels du milieu artistique et culturel, chercheur.e.s et étudiant.e.s québécois et internationaux. Avec les publics invités et visiteurs, ainsi qu’une équipe de médiateurs et médiatrices, ce laboratoire public sera un aréna de création et partage aux croisements des arts, du design, des sciences et de savoirs et savoir-faire situés.

Les échanges fondés sur la pratique, autour de conditions matérielles technologiques, sont les prémisses centrales de ce Labo Public.  Au sein de chacun des 10 modules de travail, l’exploration collaborative et radicalement pluridisciplinaire autour d’un thème central, MATERIA, guidera la démarche commune. Il s’agira donc d’interroger un retour à la matérialité, à la matière et au tangible, en réponse au développement du domaine du virtuel.

Les pratiques matérielles et collaboratives au cœur de cette activité permettront d’ouvrir des perspectives de développement pour de nouvelles œuvres et créations. La mise en place de ce laboratoire en espace accessible au public promeut la vulgarisation de la recherche et de la création artistique, ainsi que la démystification de leurs processus de travail. Pour clore ces ateliers et rendre compte du travail effectué et des explorations qui auront été menées, une restitution publique aura lieu le samedi, 10 septembre en après-midi.

Le Laboratoire Public vise :

  • La transmission et amélioration des compétences mutuelles des participant.e.s par l’exploration esthétique et technique de nouvelles technologies et approches créatives ;
  • Instaurer et pérenniser de nouvelles collaborations par le biais de pratiques partagées;
  • Renforcer le dialogue entre les disciplines, les secteurs du milieu artistique et culturel, de la recherche-création académique, et divers publics ;
  • Expliciter les liens entre la création artistique, les secteurs d’innovation technologique et la recherche scientifique ;
  • Promouvoir la découverte de nouvelles pratiques entre secteurs et auprès de la société civile ; 
  • Développer de nouvelles propositions d’offre culturelle et artistique ;

Les Modules

  • ROBOTIQUE SOUPLE : FORMER, INFORMER, DÉFORMER

    Photo : Anna Schaeffner

    Participant·e·s:

    • Samuel Bianchini, Artiste, Professeur-chercheur, Ensad Paris [FR](initiateur du module)
    • Raphaëlle Kerbrat, Étudiante-chercheure, EnsAD-Paris [FR]
    • Anna Schaeffner, Étudiante-chercheure, EnsAD-Paris [FR]
    • Ariane Plante, Commissaire en art numérique [CA-QC]
    • Matthew Halpenny, Étudiant-chercheur, Université de Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Philippe Vandal, Étudiant-chercheur, Université de Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Don Undeen, Étudiant-chercheur, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    La robotique souple, déformable, s’adapte physiquement à son environnement mais ne se contrôle pas aussi facilement que les robots durs et articulés. Comment élaborer de tels objets souples et actifs en prenant en compte leur matérialité, leurs modalités d’actions autant que leur esthétique et symbolique particulières ? Pour répondre à cette problématique, les participants s’engageront avec différentes techniques (Nitinol, gel, bioplastique, …) dont des systèmes pneumatiques pour lesquels l’air est autant un vecteur de déformation qu’une ressource respiratoire. Ce médium sera considéré en rapport à des membranes, en étroite collaboration avec le module “Membranes souples bio-inspirées et surfaces adaptatives”. L’approche explorée ici visera plus largement à repenser nos modes d’habitations du monde dans un rapport renouvelé à l’environnement.

  • MEMBRANES SOUPLES BIO-INSPIRÉES ET SURFACES ADAPTATIVES

    Photo : Samuel Bianchini

    Participant·e·s:

    • Alice Jarry, Artiste-chercheure, Professeure adjointe, Université Concordia [CA-QC] (initiatrice du module)
    • Marie-Pier Boucher, Professeure adjointe, Université de Toronto [CA-QC/ON] (initiatrice du module)
    • Miranda Smitheram, Professeure-chercheuse, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Alex Bachmayer, Étudiante-chercheuse, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Jacqui Beaumont, Étudiante-chercheuse, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Vanessa Mardirossian, Étudiante-chercheuse, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Brice Ammar-Khodja, Étudiant-chercheur, Université Concordia [CA-QC]
    • Lee Wilkins, Étudiant-chercheur, Université Concordia [CA-QC]

    Ce module a pour objet la croissance et la maintenance de membranes bio-inspirées telles que des bioplastiques, des algues, des espèces de plantes invasives et de l’abaca. Les propriétés souples et filtrantes de ces surfaces informeront la création de membranes pliables et adaptatives. En étroite collaboration avec le module « Robotique souple : former, informer, déformer », les comportements de ces membranes seront expérimentés avec des systèmes pneumatiques et des flux d’air relevant de la robotique déformable (“soft robotics”). Les activités pratiques seront liées à des discussions et des visites de sites urbains permettant d’aborder les conditions d’habitabilité et les dimensions socio-politiques des membranes qui composent l’environnement bâti.
  • INTERACTIVITÉ COLLECTIVE CO-SITUÉE À L’AIDE DE TÉLÉPHONES INTELLIGENTS MAIN-TENUS

    Photo Christian Mamoun

    Participant·e·s:

    • Dominique Cunin, Artiste-chercheur, Ensad-Paris et ESAD-Valence [FR] (initiateur du module)
    • Emmanuel Durand, Codirecteur Metalab-SAT [CA] (initiateur du module)
    • Anaëlle Sermanson, Étudiante-chercheuse, ESAD-Valence [FR]
    EnsadLab (Ensad – Paris) s’associe au MétaLab de la SAT (Montréal-Québec) pour un module de recherche et création autour de leurs outils dédiés à la création artistique interactive. LivePose, logiciel de détection des corps humains à partir d’un flux vidéo et Mobilizing.js, outil de création d’interactivité collective co-située à l’aide des smartphones seront utilisés conjointement pour la première fois. Il s’agit d’interroger les relations possibles entre les mains « nues » et les mains équipées d’un téléphone intelligent. Quelle main prendra le contrôle de l’autre ? Comment les écrans mobiles peuvent pousser à la production d’un geste, mais aussi rendre compte de la réalisation de ce geste, qui plus est à plusieurs participants ?
  • SUPER-OBJETS : UNE APPROCHE AU-DELÀ DE L’HUMAIN POUR L’IA

    Photo : groupe des objets révolutionnaires

    Participants:

    • Filipe PAIS, Chercheur, Ensad-Paris [FR] et Professeur associé, Université Noroff [NO], commissaire d’exposition (initiateur du module)
    • Corentin Loubet, Designer, Étudiant-chercheur, Ensad-Paris [FR]
    Ce module explore la notion de super-objet à travers la construction de prototypes. Ce concept spéculatif inspiré par la recherche sur les objets comportementaux et par les écrits de José Saramago, écrivain de roman et de fiction, permet d’imaginer de futurs modes d’existence et de cohabitation avec de puissants agents non humains dotés de formes complexes d’action. Un super-objet peut percevoir son environnement, ainsi que des environnements lointains, et se comporter en conséquence. Ces objets ont été conçus pour résoudre des problèmes difficiles tels que le réchauffement de la planète ou la déforestation, et ils peuvent se comporter et agir contre la volonté des humains. L’atelier utilisera le MisB Kit comme principal outil de prototypage rapide.
  • LES RÉALITÉS MIXTES DU COIN DE LA RUE

    Photo : Jean-Ambroise Vesac

    Participants:

    • Jean-Ambroise Vesac, Artiste-chercheur, Professeur-chercheur, UQAT [CA-QC] (initiateur du module)
    • Jean-Pierre Flayeux, Professeur-chercheur, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Dominic Lafontaine, Artiste numérique anicinabe [CA-QC]
    • Jean-Marc Nielly, Programmeur, UQAT [CA-QC]

    Ce module explore la matérialité des lieux urbains et la performativité numérique en réalité mixte : il s’agira de créer une série de micro-expériences basées sur des espaces urbains numérisés et transformés en scènes virtuelles ouvertes aux surprises de jeux participatifs et à diverses expressions artistiques d’avant-garde.
  • TEXTUROLOGIES : PRATIQUE EXPÉRIMENTALE DU SKATEBOARD

    Photo : Max Boutin

    Participants:

    • Max Boutin, Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Étudiant-chercheur, UQÀM [CA-QC] (initiateur du module)
    • Marc-André Cossette, Artistes, Étudiant-chercheur, Université Concordia [CA-QC], ALMA
    • Brian Glenney, Philosophe-chercheur-skateur, Université de Norwich [US]
    • Alexis Lacroix, Skateur professionnel et musicien [CA-QC]
    • Louis-Philippe Rondeau, Artiste, Professeur-chercheur, UQAC-NAD [CA-QC]
    • Mathieu Deblois, Skateur, Artiste, Étudiant-chercheur, UQAC-NAD [CA-QC]

    Ce module regroupe artistes, chercheurs et skateurs pour réfléchir à de nouvelles formes de savoirs émergents de l’art numérique et du skate. Inspiré des intérêts de recherche de Max Boutin issues du concept de texturologie. Le skateboard interroge notre perception de l’espace urbain à travers la sensorialité. Il a comme objectif d’exploiter le son, l’image et les vibrations émanant du skate afin de créer des expérimentations en temps réel où faire du skateboard est devient acte artistique performatif.
  • SONO-(SORO)RIDADES : PRODUCTION DE PODCASTS, COLLECTIVITÉ ET DIALOGUES INTERSECTIONNELS

    Photo : Alexis Bellavance

    Participant·e·s:

    • Amanda Gutierrez, Étudiante-chercheuse, Université Concordia [CA-QC] (initiatrice du module)
    • Laura Balboa, Artiste indépendant et conceptrice (initiatrice du module)
    • Maira Bielma Perez, Artiste indépendent
    • Jen Castro, Activiste et Membre de la Démocratie numérique

    Pour explorer des dimensions non-binaires, éthiques et politiques des féminismes contemporains, cet atelier radiophonique s’appuie sur le concept de “sororidad” de Marcela Legarde (2006). Les participant.e.s produiront des courts podcasts appuyés sur les méthodologies et techniques de pédagogies auditives et production collective de sons proposées par les initiatrices.
  • ECOCRÉATION ET IMPRESSION 3D DE MATIÈRES RÉSIDUELLES INDUSTRIELLES

    Photo : Martin Beauregard

    Participant·e·s:

    • Martin Beauregard, Artiste, Professeur-chercheur, UQAT [CA-QC] (initiateur du module)
    • Yuchen Guo, Étudiante-chercheure, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Zeineb Siala, Étudiante-chercheure, UQAT [CA-QC]
    • Sarra Héllaoui, Étudiante-chercheure, UQAT [CA-QC]
    Comment l’impression 3D peut-elle participer à la création de nouvelles formes de matérialité dans sa relation à l’art et l’écologie ? Les activités de recherche-création de ce module ont pour objectif général de repenser et de redéfinir le paradigme de fabrication d’objet en impression 3D ainsi que des préconceptions liées à la production et à la gestion des matières résiduelles industrielles ou déchets. Cet atelier permettra aux participant.e.s de se familiariser aux approches de recherche-création et recherche expérimentale dans une perspective interdisciplinaire ou intersectorielle, ainsi que divers procédés techniques et concepts issus des champs de la pratique de l’art écologique, de l’écodésign, de l’écoconception et du désign sensoriel.
  • VISUALISATION IMMERSIVE DES ÉMOTIONS EN TEMPS RÉEL

    Photo : Yan Breuleux

    Participant·e·s:

    • Yan Breuleux, Professeur-chercheur, École NAD-UQAC [CA-QC] (initiateur du module)
    • Marie-Eve Bilodeau, Diplômée de la maîtrise en génie électrique, ÉTS [CA-QC] (initiatrice du module)
    • Linda Paquette, Professeure en Psychologie clinique, UQAC [CA-QC]
    • Rémi Lapierre, Codeur créatif
    • Antoine Langevin, Étudiant, ÉTS [CA-QC]

    Comment un.e utilisateur.rice connecté.e à une interface physiologique pourrait se reconnaître ou trouver des formes reflétant sa personnalité? En suivant une perspective expérimentale, les participant.e.s créeront des prototypes d’environnements immersifs et d’outils permettant une réflexion humain-machine menant à des projets de visualisation immersive des émotions.
  • LE CORPS ET L’ESPRIT À L’ÈRE DU NUMÉRIQUE

    Photo : Nora Gibson

    Participant·e·s:

    • Nora Gibson, Étudiante-chercheure, Université Concordia [CA-QC] (initiatrice du module)
    • Gabrielle Couillard, Étudiante-chercheure, UQAM [CA-QC] (initiatrice du module)
    • Cecilia Kramar, Ingénieur de recherche, Université McGill [CA-QC], Convergence Initiative
    • Cristian A. Zaelzer, Professeur-chercheur, Université Concordia [CA-QC] Convergence Initiative

    Ce module de travail développe un prototype d’installation interactive permettant aux participant.e.s d’explorer différents états sensoriels/émotionnels/psychologiques, avec un accent particulier sur les marqueurs et les processus sous-jacents de l’empathie.